ARCH 101

Abstracting Space part 2

After my last drawing about the backyard of my school, my teachers wanted us to make mini model by overlapping planes, attaining different levels of hierarchy, proportionate relationship between layers. I produced a composition referring to my previous drawings by using normal acetate, sanded acetate and yellow acetate sheets.

DSCF1353

DSCF1355

Next week, I will do it’s bigger and  three dimensional model.. I hope it will be better 🙂

ARCH 101

Abstracting Space

The photograph was taken in the backyard of my university. First my friends and I drew this perspective without ruler and measurement.
IMG-20130928-WA0001

DSCF1370

      Then, our teacher wanted us to constitute a group which includes five people and use a part of body as a unit for attaining the exact dimensions while measuring the prominent spatial qualities of the given space. We used a firend’s span while measuring then we just drew that space with planes and lines.

DSCF1371

DSCF1366

Then our teachers said that we had some mistakes about our drawings. For instance we didn’t draw the environment of the straignt perspective like building. And I drew it again.

DSCF1375

ARCH 121

My report about the article: ‘Architecture and Building’

 H. and Rowan R. “Architecture and Building” in: Understanding Architecture: An Introduction to Architecture and Architectural History. London and New York: Routledge, 2005, pp. 9-32.

   In this text, there is an important something about women architects which is mentioned. Their studies in the field of architecture hasn’t been accepted throughtout history mostly. Yet, they have continued to practise architecture. To my way of thinking , this is an essential point, because since the past women have stayed in the background and they haven’t been encouraged about working or creating something. However,  some women started to be successful about architecture although they are not unrecognised. In my opinion, they should be encouraged more in the field of architecture.

     Besides, I realised a very interesting thing in the text. It mentions that buildings have intrinsic and extrinsic meanings. First meaning has visible shape whereas the other one has tradition and social use. It says that we can recognise which rooms are the most socially significant by the size of windows in a place. I understood that the extrinsic meaning includes interior of the building functions. The example which is given about Georgian terrace was very interesting to me.

    I really liked a part in this text about our view while we are looking at buildings. I definitely agree that idea which is about interpretations of people about buildings. Because while the time is elapsing, perspectives of people also change. Past experiences leads to bias. That’s why people can’t look at building objectively. So, people should consider the period when a building was constructed, as past conditions were different. They should think about the opinions of the past period and interpret accordingly.

   In the beginning of the text, there is a very questionable thing. In 2002, when some architects won a prize, this situation was discussed whether it should more properly be seen as architecture or as engineering. In my opinion, it is more arguable. A building’s success can belong to an architect or engineers. If it is just an architect’s success, what is the criterion of an engineer’s succes? Are the engineers always in the shadow of architects? I wonder it. On the other hand, an architect is like a maestro. He or she is responsible for a mistake or success because he or she controls engineers. So, this point is stil debatable.

Leyla YILDIZ

ARCH 101

Body Extension

That day was my second day at my department which is architecture. And it was my first studio class. I was so excited. When I was late to my lesson, I was a little bit stressed but  it was enjoyable and so funny:) Our teachers wanted us to do a body extension with a paper without using other materials like scissors and gum. I made a jaw of extension. Yeahh, it looks so funny and odd. While I was talking about my extension to my teacher, I laughed a lot. Ohh, even one of my teacher took photo. It was embarrassing for me. Whatever.. When we look at the purposes of my extension, it is useful to eat some food. For example you can put some small food on the long part of this paper and can eat easily. Also it is important in order not to pollute environment. Food crumbs can’t fall somewhere. Maybe it is available for babies more. If you ask how we drink something, u can use pipette easily. 🙂

IMG-20130924-WA0003